Pure Michigan Bucket List

pureMI

I’ve spent the last two days wondering why I’m still in Michigan. I don’t hate it here, I just don’t want to be here anymore. The thing is, as bad as I want to leave, I want to stay.

I had a talk with someone and they suggested traveling regularly to get rid of my “Michigan Blues”. While I think it’s a great idea, I don’t have the funds to do so. My (current) solution to this problem is to do more exploring in my home state on the weekends.

I made a “Pure Michigan Bucket List” of all of the places I want to go and things I want to do/see. Hopefully, it will put off my need to travel since I’ll still be traveling (just not in the capacity that I’d like to).

My bucket list (in no specific order) includes:

  • Silver Lake Sand Dunes
  • The Henry Ford Museum and Greenfield Village
  • Hitsville U.S.A
  • Campus Martius
  • Detroit Institute of Art
  • Charles H. Wright Museum of African American History
  • Palmer Park
  • A Tigers game
  • Holland (I missed the Tulip Festival 😦  )
  • Traverse City
  • Michigan Adventures
  • Mackinac Island

I’m sure I’ll add more to the list as time goes on. I’ll also be writing posts as I cross off things on my Pure Michigan Bucket List, so stay tuned! I’m hoping this list will help me to appreciate, and love, Pure Michigan a bit more!

If you’re in the same predicament as I am, try making a bucket list for your state, or even the city, or surrounding cities, that you live in. Get to know your home. I’m sure we’ll all find things we never knew about.

xx- Rai

Leave a Reply

